The Great Reveal – Part 3

Zinacantan SchoolI began by introducing myself using basic Spanish.  I explained my reason for visiting and how I was representing a group of Vermont students of the same age.  I continued in English with the translation help of my Mexican friend Rose.  The Chiapas students were 100% engaged in the stories I told about Vermont and the classroom of third graders who wanted to communicate with them.  The gradually climbed out of their seats to have a closer look at the photos I was sharing from Vermont.  I soon found my back pressed to the wall with their curiosity piqued about this strange ‘gringo’ visitor.  My pale physical appearance, tall stature, unintelligible language, and my gifts from students a world away was completely intriguing to them.

Leave a Reply

